When you go to your job, you assume that your employer will pay you for the time that you spend there and the work that you do. There are both state and federal laws that outline how much an employee is supposed to be paid and how much time they are allowed to work under that salary.
There are laws regarding wages for hourly employees. As an hourly employee in New Jersey, you are supposed to be paid a minimum of $8.38 an hour. Other states throughout the country have a minimum wage of up to $15 an hour. These wages change often and therefore, it is important that you are aware of how much you are to be compensated for each hour you work.
In addition, as a full time employee, you are only permitted to work 40 hours each week, and in the event that you work more than that, you are supposed to be paid overtime. Overtime pay is time and a half. So, for example, if you are a full-time employee that is paid $10 an hour normally, you would receive $15 for any hours over your standard 40 hours a week.
In the event that your employer has not been complying with the minimum wage standards that New Jersey has, you may be able to bring a lawsuit against them. However, it is important that you know that some lines of work are exempt from the wage and hour laws. These may include teachers, journalists, agricultural workers, fisherman, and more. People who work in these professions are generally not given overtime pay, even though they frequently work more than forty hours each week.
If you believe that your employer is not abiding by these laws, you should speak with an experienced employment law attorney who can assist you in putting together a case and finding justice.
If you need an experienced and dedicated attorney to assess your case, guide you through your options, and diligently advocate on your behalf, you should contact The Salvo Law Firm, P.C.